Baker-Polito Administration Names Appointees to Plymouth 400 Anniversary Commission

BOSTON – Governor Charlie Baker, today signed an Executive Order reaffirming and expanding the 35-memberPlymouth, Massachusetts 400th Anniversary Commission, before swearing in several members of the Commission who will be charged with ensuring a befitting national and state observance of the settlement of Plymouth Colony in 1620, including opportunities for local, state, national and global educational programming and interaction and a reflection of Massachusetts’ rich history, natural resources and diverse cultural contributions.

“Our Commonwealth’s rich history was instrumental in shaping our nation’s founding and future as a place for exploration, self-governance, religious freedom and innovation,” said Governor Charlie Baker. “The talented members of this Commission will ensure a fitting commemoration for all to appreciate the challenges and achievements of the Wampanoag and English in those early days, from their voyage across the Atlantic, to the signing of the Mayflower Compact and their settling of Plymouth Colony which defined America’s earliest beginnings.”

Members of the Commission include 26-gubernatorial appointees with varying expertise in tourism, business and industry, community outreach, marketing and advertising, media, food services, travel, water transit and technology to assist in educational, promotional, tourism and economic development efforts. Dusty Rhodes of Conventures and Marlo Fogelman of marlo marketing will serve respectively as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Commission. Cedric Cromwell, Chairman of the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe and Marty Meehan, President of the University of Massachusetts will serve as Honorary Chairmen.

“Over the next few years these appointees will use a diverse range of experiences and skills in a variety of economic sectors to honor the roots of our nation’s history and the establishment of New England’s oldest municipality,” said Lt. Governor Karyn Polito. “The organizational efforts and thoughtful collaboration of this important commission will help to ensure a successful commemoration and highlight a historic anniversary.”

The Commission further includes the Secretaries for Education, Energy and Environmental Affairs, Housing and Economic Development, Labor and Workforce Development, Public Safety and Security and the Department of Transportation or their designees and legislative, constitutional office, organizational and local appointees.

“Plymouth’s 400th anniversary presents a tremendous opportunity for the Commonwealth to attract new visitors to experience all that our coastal communities have to offer,” said Housing and Economic Development Secretary Jay Ash. “Our unique place in America’s history is an incredible draw for tourists around the world, and this commission will work to maximize our local, national and global exposure on this landmark occasion.”

“I would to thank the Baker-Polito Administration for creating the Plymouth 400 Commission and Senate President Rosenberg for appointing me,” said State Senator Vinny deMacedo (R – Plymouth). “ I look forward to working with my fellow members as we find ways to promote the Commonwealth and the Plymouth community in order to have truly memorable commemoration of the 400th anniversary of our great nation’s founding in Plymouth.”

"I am honored to be named to this Commission and look forward to working with all of the Commissioners to ensure that Provincetown is well represented and that we have a successful event,” said Representative Sarah Peake (D – Provincetown).

“We’ve worked with the Governor’s office to ensure that this commission came to fruition,” said Representative Matt Muratore (R – Plymouth). “The lasting economic benefits that the entire Commonwealth will see from not only the events in 2020, but from the collaboration of great minds on the Plymouth 400 Commission, will ensure that our communal history will live on for generations to come.”

“The world’s eyes will turn to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts in 2020 as we commemorate the four-hundredth anniversary of the coming of Mayflower and founding of Plymouth Colony, moments in our Nation’s history which still resonate today through the many cultural contributions and American traditions that began here almost four hundred years ago,” said Executive Director of Plymouth 400 Michele Pecoraro. “Together with our international partners including the federally recognized Wampanoag Tribes, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands, America will honor this moment in history with events and programs that will engage communities from across the globe in recognizing the importance of our nation’s earliest beginnings and helping to shape our future by learning from our past.”

“The 2020 Commemoration is an opportunity for the Town of Plymouth and the Commonwealth of Massachusetts to share our rich and diverse history, heritage, and values with the world while also promoting the many internationally-acclaimed tourism destinations and cultural assets we have here,” said President of Plymouth 400 Board of Directors Ken Tavares. “The Plymouth, Massachusetts 400th Anniversary Commission will be instrumental in helping to identify and secure the resources and avenues through which the 2020 events and programs will be planned and promoted, and as the President of Plymouth 400 I am thrilled to welcome such esteemed and talented individuals to the Commission.”

"I am honored to be working with such an esteemed and talented group of commissioners,” said Chairman of the Plymouth, Massachusetts 400th Anniversary Commission Dusty Rhodes. “Plymouth 400 represents a unique and unprecedented opportunity for every segment of the Commonwealth to join together to demonstrate the important leadership role our state has played in the founding of our nation historically as well as our contributions to its future."




Plymouth, Massachusetts 400th Anniversary Commission

*or a designee; **gubernatorial appointment

Dusty Rhodes, Chair**


Marlo Fogelman, Vice-Chair**

marlo marketing

Cedric Cromwell, Honorary Chairman

Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe

Marty Meehan, Honorary Chairman

University of Massachusetts

Secretary of Housing and Economic Development Jay Ash**

Secretary of Education Jim Peyser**

Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development Ron Walker**

Secretary of Transportation Stephanie Pollack**

Secretary of Education Jim Peyser**

Alex Cahill**

Designee of Secretary of Energy and Environmental Affairs Matthew Beaton

Michelle Small**

Designee of Secretary of Public Safety and Security Daniel Bennett

State Senator Vinny deMacedo

Appointee of Senate President Stan Rosenberg

Representative Sarah Peake

Appointee of House Speaker Robert DeLeo

Michael Comeau

Appointee of Secretary of State William Galvin

Michael Maresco

Appointee of Secretary of State William Galvin

Ken Tavares

Plymouth 400, Inc. President of the Board of Directors

Anthony Provenzano

Plymouth Board of Selectman

Cheryl Andrews

Provincetown Board of Selectman

Christina Andreoli**

Worcester Regional Chamber of Commerce

Suzanne Beck**

Explore Northhampton

Cindy Brown**

Boston Duck Tours

Darla DeGrace**


Julie Doherty**

Bay State Cruises

Susan Giovanetti**

Pilgrim Society

Chris Goode**

Dell Technologies

Tom Kershaw**


Francois Laurent-Nivaud**

Massachusetts Office of Tourism and Travel

Patricia Lawton**

The Lawton Group

Danny Levy**


Patricia Mellon**

Plymouth Rock Assurance

Alice Nash**

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Jim Peters Jr.**

Massachusetts Bureau of Indian Affairs

Colette Phillips**

Colette Phillips Communications

Paul Sacco**

Massachusetts Lodging Association

Lou Trubiano**

Trubiano Advertising

Tobias Vanderhoop**

Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head

Anita Walker**

Massachusetts Cultural Council

Angie Zambellis**

Yarmouth House Restaurant